Chicken Tot Bake

I’m sure you have all sorts of inspirational pictures and quotes showing up on your Facebook wall. I usually skim over them. I have a couple family members that started these “shares,” but things are starting to get interesting. Instead of pictures of sunsets and cute animals, I’m starting to see delicious recipes! I was inspired by one recipe of a tater tot casserole. I swapped out some ingredients to make this gluten free and nixed other ingredients to make it healthier. Basically, here is my new creation. I spent all day trying to come up with a catchy name. That obviously didn’t happen. Also since I was experimenting I don’t have my usual set of pics.

3 chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
Taco seasoning
1 can of “cream of whatever” soup (hard to come by when making GF, so I used 2 cups cream of corn soup – found in a box near the boxed broths in the grocery store)
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (split into 2 1-cup portions)
4 tablespoons sour cream
1/2 cup milk
1 bag tots (I let mine defrost partially)

Preheat the oven to 375.
Toss the chicken in a frying pan and sprinkle with taco seasoning. Continue stirring and adding as much seasoning as you’d like until the chicken is fully done.
20130418-202914.jpg
In a medium sized bowl, combine soup, milk, sour cream, and 1 cup cheddar cheese. Stir well. No one wants a surprise mouthful of sour cream chunk.
20130418-203212.jpg
In a large pan (I used a glass 9×12), spread half the tots.
20130418-203455.jpg
Add the chicken over the tots.
20130418-203548.jpg
Pour the soup mixture on next.
20130418-203638.jpg
Top with the last of the tots and then sprinkle the other cup of cheese on top.
20130418-203730.jpg
Bake for 30 minutes. Let it sit for 10-15 minutes to let the soup solidify a little more.
20130418-203845.jpg
My husband added a little hot sauce to his serving last night. This dish will definitely be repeated!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tot Bake

  1. I’m jealous, I wish my friends posted delicious recipes! They mainly show photos of whatever sporting event they were cheering on or restaurant they just ate at. I like the idea of using tater tots in a casserole; it looks so creamy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

