Crunchy Chicken Wings

Let me start by saying I’ve never been a huge chicken wing fan. Don’t get me wrong, I love chicken! But wings are usually hot (spicy not temp) and very messy. No thank you. My husband loves wings. He is usually very considerate and will compromise on a mild or honey based sauce… Or I will just make a batch for me and a batch for him. When I do eat the wings, I don’t like the skin. At all. So I don’t really get much of the marinade taste anyways. It has been hard to find good gluten free wings to make at home. In the past I’ve baked or done in the crock pot. Todd found a recipe that was supposed to have the nice crunch that we have been lacking. Poor guy found it in August and I finally tried it tonight. I am now beating myself up that I didn’t try it sooner! The sauce is on the hot side, so I set some aside and did not dip in the sauce mixture. I ate twice as many wings as usual!

This recipe made about 3 dozen wings.

Ingredients:
30-36 chicken wings (GF: Perdue Tender & Tasty chicken wings, no breading)
1 cup flour (I used Bobs Red Mill all-purpose gf flour)
½ teaspoon paprika
½ teaspoon chili pepper
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ teaspoon onion powder
½ cup Louisiana Hot Sauce or Franks Red Hot (both GF)
½ cup butter
1 dash black pepper
oil for deep frying

20121119-222810.jpg
In a small bowl mix together the flour, paprika, chili pepper and salt.

20121119-223037.jpg
In a large dish or pan (I used the bottom of my broiling pan), toss chicken wings with flour mixture until evenly coated. Cover dish or bowl and chill in the refrigerator for an hour or so.

20121119-223233.jpg
In a small saucepan over low heat, combine butter, hot sauce, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. Stir together and heat until butter is melted and mixture is well blended. Remove from heat and reserve for serving.

20121119-223427.jpg
In a deep frying pan, heat oil on med-high. Use just enough oil to fully cover wings, about an inch or so.

20121119-223556.jpg
Fry coated wings in hot oil for 10 to 15 minutes, or until parts of wings begin to turn brown. Flip the wings half way through. Remove finished wings from the pan and place on paper towel to dry.

20121119-223831.jpg
This last step is what I skipped so I could have mild wings. They were flavorful and crunchy and I loved them! Once the wings are dry, dip each in the sauce mixture and set aside on a plate to cool. Try some blue cheese or ranch dressing on the side!

20121119-224142.jpg

2 thoughts on “Crunchy Chicken Wings

Leave a Reply

