I love to shake my hips!

Back in June I began to discover the joy of Groupon. I came across one for an exercise class that was right up my alley: hula hooping! I was always decent at hula hooping growing up. In high school and college I worked at a toy store in the mall. In the summers we would sell hula hoops. On slow days I got permission to take them out in the middle of the mall and just go for it. My excuse was it would help draw people in, boost sales, blah blah. I would have my manager time me and once I hit two hours without dropping the hoop!

I did numerous sports and activities growing up. Swimming, ice skating, softball, gymnastics, running, etc. None of them I really loved, but did because of the social aspect. Also… None of them I was really great at. I mean, I didn’t suck, but I was never at the top.

Back to present day. I work 40 hours a week, usually on my feet, and am pretty tired when I get home. I cook dinner and take care of our zoo of pets. I relax in front of the tv for a couple hours and then head off to bed. Boring and monotonous. Not anymore!

Groupon! I read the Groupon and then checked out the website of this place. It is called HulaFit and was only a 10-15 minute drive away. I convinced two of the girls that work with me to try it.

Fast forward to today. My Groupon ran out in July and I have been purchasing monthly passes which let me go to as many classes as I want to! I fell in love with this class and the women that teach it. I attend 5-6 classes a week now. I feel great! The classes are 45 minutes to an hour and are set to music. We hoop and get some cardio and aerobics in. Some classes we have dance routines and some we pump some (5-8lb) iron.

I’ve made a handful of friends as well. I don’t get along with many females, so this is pretty awesome for me. I never thought I could have so much fun doing an exercise class. Most of the time I forget that I’m actually exercising! And not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty darn good at it.

As a treat to myself for Christmas, I may finally bite the bullet and purchase my own hoop!

20121025-221102.jpg

4 thoughts on “I love to shake my hips!

  1. Hi Kathy,

    I love that we found this class in the same way…Groupon! I convinced Cheryl to try it and we are hooked! I,too, could hula hoop for hours as a child, and make very little effort to keep it up! But Brenda challenges us, and I love Iron Hula! I’m glad that we became friends through this class, appreciate your awesome recipes (trying one our this weekend), and I think you need your own hoop! In class, you put us all to shame!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

