Homemade gluten free Chex Mix

My how time flies! It has been forever since I’ve posted and I apologize! Life has got busy.

Moving on to recipes! I’ve been smart and taking pics as I’ve been cooking so you all should see a few posts within the next few days. First stop: Chex mix. We used to go to BJ’s and get the large bag all the time. I love munching on food, and Chex mix makes me feel slightly better about all that snacking. The best part is almost all favors of Chex mix are gluten free now, and many have recipes on the back of the boxes. This is for plain, run of the mill, classic Chex mix.

5 cups Corn Chex cereal
4 cups Rice Chex cereal
1 cup bite-size pretzels (I was all out)
1 cup bite-size bagel chips or regular-size bagel chips, broken into 1-inch pieces
6 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons seasoned salt
3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder

20121025-212047.jpg
Heat oven to 250°F. In large bowl, mix cereals, pretzels and bagel chips; set aside. (I use the bottom of my broiling pan)

20121025-212347.jpg
In a large bowl, melt butter. Stir in seasonings. (I like to almost double this part of the recipe to get the strong flavor of the store bought snack)

20121025-212454.jpg

20121025-212504.jpg
Gradually stir in cereal mixture until evenly coated.

20121025-212657.jpg
Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Spread on paper towels to cool, about 15 minutes. Store in airtight container

20121025-212737.jpg
I like to store this in an airtight cereal container to keep it fresh.

One thought on “Homemade gluten free Chex Mix

  1. When I’m making Chex mix (which I think I’ll do this weekend!) I like to use a really big container and put the cereal in it, pour the butter mix over it and shake shake shake – then bake. For me, it seems to cover better, but it might be in my mind.

    (Then I rinse the container out, dry it and use it for storage later!)

Leave a Reply

