Gluten free donuts, round 1

Grocery shopping has become difficult this time of year. Right when we enter the store, we are hit with a table of apple cider and cinnamon sugar donuts. Torture for my husband who hasn’t had one of those donuts in about two years. Since I’m not cruel enough to bring them into our home, I’ve missed them too. I spent most of last week hunting for good GF donut recipes and found one that seemed to fit the bill. Easy ingredients that were already in the pantry, and they are baked, not fried. I didn’t have a donut pan but neither did the person in the recipe. Needless to say, here is the result:

20120923-141532.jpg
We called them donut cookies. They tasted great; my gluten eating coworker ate more than I did. However, after a couple days some were hard and some were soft. I decided to hunt for another recipe and try again. To make them actually look like donuts I found cheap mini donut pan at Bed Bath and Beyond

I got this idea from Celiac Kiddo who discovered it on Hope’s Kitchen.

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, melted
3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp Gluten Free baking powder
1 cup Gluten Free Flour

Topping:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

20120923-143623.jpg

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 24 mini-muffin cups. (I just did the first 12, popped them out, and refilled the one tin)
2. Mix sugar, butter and nutmeg in large bowl. Stir in the milk, then mix in baking powder and flour just until combined. Fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full.
3. Bake 12-15 minutes, until the tops are lightly browned.
4. While the donuts are baking, melt the butter. In separate bowl, mix the sugar and cinnamon. Remove muffins from the cups, dip in butter and roll in the cinnamon sugar.

20120923-143808.jpg

20120923-143832.jpg

Wow.. These bad boys look AND taste delicious! The $10 donut pan helped so much and I cannot wait to try another type of donut! Maybe next time I will venture to the ones with frosting…

One thought on “Gluten free donuts, round 1

  1. Pingback: Easy Mexican dip | Going Without Gluten

Leave a Reply

