Best gluten free pizza. Ever.

We eat a lot of pizza in this house. Before GF foods came into our lives we would have pizza once a week. I would get the bag of dough for $1 or so at the grocery store and go to town. Next time you’re in the grocery store, check out how much a GF pizza crust costs. Anywhere from $5-$15, depending on brand and size. This is no Boboli with sauce, cheese, toppings. That’s just for the circle of dough (which does not taste very good)! Being the frugal girl that I am, I would not stand for that.

We started getting pizza at restaurants. The only place we could really find was Uno’s. Their’s wasn’t bad… but it was very thin and very bland. That got old quick.

So I got creative. Bob’s Red Mill makes bag mixes for many breads, cakes, etc including pizza dough. At $3.29 a bag it sure beats the premade stuff. I had to give it a shot. After months of tinkering with temperature, precooking the dough, time in the oven, I finally have mastered the PERFECT GLUTEN FREE PIZZA. I’ve tested it on some friends and they even approve.

There are many variations you can use for toppings. We are a pepperoni family. Recently, Todd encouraged me to try pepperoni and meatballs. Brilliant. How do I get the pizza so perfect? Here goes:

Follow the directions on the package. The modifications I’ve made:

  • Get a small bowl and put two tablespoons of butter in. Put in the microwave for about 12 seconds, or until it melts. Sprinkle in some garlic powder (don’t worry about too much, it’s not overpowering at all) and stir.
  • While shaping the dough to my pizza stone, I pour a litle of the garlic butter mix on top and use it to help me work the dough to the edges of the pan. That takes about half the mix. The rest of the mix I pour on top and smooth over the whole surface of the dough.
  • Prebake the dough for 15 minutes, take out for toppings, then put back in for 18 minutes. It may look a little dark but it is not burnt!

4 thoughts on “Best gluten free pizza. Ever.

  1. Pingback: Meatballs! | Going Without Gluten

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Christmas #2 « Going Without Gluten

    • I have! I like the different flavors, but also have to cook it a lot longer than the directions state. I usually use it for smaller projects, like pigs in a blanket, since it sticks together well. When I tried it for a pizza, it only made about half of what the Bob’s Red Mill makes.

Leave a Reply

