Mac and Cheese

I grew up on blue box Kraft mac n cheese with the neon orange powder. It is, and always will be, my favorite. I’m partial to the newer 3 Cheese version. Anyways, Kraft is not something we really keep in the house anymore so I’ve broadened my horizons. In one of my favorite GF cookbooks, You Won’t Believe It’s Gluten-Free! I found a great recipe that is now my go-to. Mainly because it doesn’t call for those odd crunchies that people ruin it with.

Price Chopper now has a shredded cheese mix that is supposed to be for Mac n Cheese. Being lazy and adventurous (and making sure this new cheese was GF), I got a couple bags. My secret ingredient is bacon bits for that extra flavor surprise.

Side note: I always use Tinkyada pasta (after MANY taste tests) but have to say Trader Joe’s brand of GF pasta is about half the price and tastes the same!

I’ve modified the recipe from the book to my own tastes (which will be in parenthesis)

  • 8oz GF pasta
  • 8oz cheddar cheese

Sauce:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 4oz Monterey jack cheese

Topping:

  • 2oz cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Cook pasta and set aside
  2. Combine sauce ingredients in a microwavable bowl. Microwave at 20 second intervals until cheese has melted and sauce thickens.
  3. In a casserole dish, Combine pasta, sauce, and 8oz shredded cheese (and bacon bits). Mix well.
  4. Bake covered for 30 mins. Uncover and sprinkle with remaining cheese, bake for 15-20 mins until brown.

(I usually double the sauce and pasta because it goes so quickly)

I made this last night and after 24 hours, there is one serving left. There is one pound of pasta in that dish people. It is good!

6 thoughts on “Mac and Cheese

  1. Love it! Confession: I still have a soft spot for Kraft but instead I usually keep a box of Annie’s Natural Mac n Cheese around for days when I am feeling extremely lazy. But your version looks pretty amazing!

    • I’ve heard good things about Annie’s! We have a box or two around here, I think. I haven’t tried it yet. For emergencies. Or as you said, extreme case of laziness!

  2. Hi Kathy, I love your blog! Thanks for the Mac and Cheese recipe. It looks delicious! We are big fans of Annie’s creamy Mac too, but it gets pricey and it’s nice to have homemade alternatives. Looking forward to reading more of your blog 🙂
    -Dana

Leave a Reply

